Modern and Contemporary Art
at Museum Wiesbaden

A new beginning with effects to the present day — the art of the 1950s and 1960s in Museum Wiesbaden. Art of the European and American Modern period after 1945 forms one of the museum’s most prominent collections, focusing on abstract painting and sculpture concerned with the themes of line, color, surface, volume, and space.

Contemporary art is shaped by conceptual installations, novel materials, and approaches, all of which is reflected in the collection of Museum Wiesbaden. These works confront us with questions about the nature of art, the conditions of its production, and the manifold levels of meaning they open up and to which they can be related.

Sculpture and installation

Katsura Funakoshi, Tale of a Sphinx, 2004

Sculpture and installation

Is it not the heads, the faces of sculptures, in particular, that present us with reality? A reality, however, that seems at once familiar yet strange. The irritation evoked by this phenomenon is an essential feature of sculpture; it throws us back onto ourselves. At Museum Wiesbaden, painting and sculpture enter into a dialog and are continually re-contextualized within the collection's focal points: From the sacral figures of the Old Masters to the busts and spirited sculptures of Jugendstil through to the abstract forms of Expressionism and Classical Modernism. In contemporary art, both areas merge. In their installations, contemporary artists go beyond classical sculpture, occupying entire spaces and using unfamiliar, new materials for their art.

Artists' rooms and spatial installations

Installations by Jochen Gerz, Rebecca Horn and Ilya Kabakov, as well as works of American Minimal Art complete the collection. Entire work complexes are displayed in artist rooms, often in intimate rapport with the architectural features of the building itself. These mostly permanent presentations offer visitors constant points of departure and arrival as they wander through the museum. Yet, the would-be familiarity of our permanent exhibits is constantly questioned anew through their interplay with the museum's continually varying special exhibitions.

International art

Jörg Immendorff, Baby fur Zunder-Zunder, 1966

International art

Today, the museum’s collection of Modern art after 1945 belongs to the most prominent of its collections. Beginning with international representatives of Abstract Expressionism, the artists' names here range from K. O. Götz and Gerhard Hoehme to Mark Rothko and Ad Reinhardt. Works by Georg Baselitz, Jörg Immendorff and Gerhard Richter, as well as Joseph Beuys and Wolf Vostell, represent the art of the early Federal Republic. The collection boasts alone twelve works by Eva Hesse, one of the most important female artists of the 20th century. Hesse was born to a Jewish family in Hamburg and grew up in New York after fleeing to the United States, so that her work bridges the gap to our collection of North American art, encompassing works by Donald Judd, Fred Sandback, Robert Mangold, Ellsworth Kelly, Brice Marden, David Novros, and Agnes Martin as well as, more recently, Joanna Pousette-Dart, Winston Roeth, and Joseph Marioni.

Art since the 1960s 

The opening-up and expansion of the concept of art found expression in currents of the 1960s. Thomas Bayrle and Peter Roehr, for example, dealt with phenomena of modern society and mass culture. Moving between fascination, cool observation and biting criticism, their works — composed of constantly repeating set pieces —appeared like a flicker of the consumer and commodity world. Similarly, Gerhard Richter used photographs as the point of departure for his paintings. He questioned the image as painting and, at the same time, as a reflection of our reality. For his work Terese Andeszka, he chose a photograph from a newspaper clipping that initially appears to tell the story of a private tragedy (with an ultimately happy outcome) but, in fact, refers to something larger, namely, to the division of Europe by the Iron Curtain and, thus, to Richter's own biography. This „truth, “ however, was concealed by Richter; it is only accessible via a „detour“ through his picture archive published as Atlas. It is there for the first time that we become privy to the full caption of the newspaper clipping that identifies the family in the photo as refugees from Hungary, putting their rescue suddenly in an entirely different context.

Gerhard Richter, Terese Andeszka, 1964. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Gerhard Richter, Terese Andeszka, 1964. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

View into the permanent exhibition

Eva Hesse, Eighter from Decatur, 1965.
Eva Hesse, Eighter from Decatur, 1965.
(Top left to bottom right): Joanna Poussette-Dart, Banded Painting #4 2015/16; K. O. Götz, Krakmo, 1958, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Gerhard Richter, Queen; Vollrad Kutscher, Leuchtende Vorbilder 1990/2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Ernst Wilhelm Nay, African, 1954; Otto Ritschl, 63/26, 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Mark Rothko, o.T., 1967, © Kate Rothko-Prizel & Christopher Rothko / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; David Novros, Salidas, 2016, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Rebecca Horn, Circle of Broken Landscape, 1997/2007; Otto Ritschl, 61/21, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Rupprecht Geiger, 587/69, 1969, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Jörg Immendorff, Deutsche Nichtschwimmer ins Wasser / Sonne-Regen-Sonne, 1965; Joseph Beuys, Capri-Batterie, 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
(Top left to bottom right): Joanna Poussette-Dart, Banded Painting #4 2015/16; K. O. Götz, Krakmo, 1958, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Gerhard Richter, Queen; Vollrad Kutscher, Leuchtende Vorbilder 1990/2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Ernst Wilhelm Nay, African, 1954; Otto Ritschl, 63/26, 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Mark Rothko, o.T., 1967, © Kate Rothko-Prizel & Christopher Rothko / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; David Novros, Salidas, 2016, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Rebecca Horn, Circle of Broken Landscape, 1997/2007; Otto Ritschl, 61/21, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Rupprecht Geiger, 587/69, 1969, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; Jörg Immendorff, Deutsche Nichtschwimmer ins Wasser / Sonne-Regen-Sonne, 1965; Joseph Beuys, Capri-Batterie, 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Art Prizes

Two art prizes are associated with Museum Wiesbaden. The first is the Alexej von Jawlensky Prize of the state capital Wiesbaden, which commemorates the life's work of the great Russian painter, who lived in Wiesbaden from 1921 until his death in 1941. It is awarded every 5 years with the financial support of the Hessian state capital, Spielbank Wiesbaden, and the Nassauische Sparkasse, among others.

The second is the Otto Ritschl Prize. The artist lived in Wiesbaden from 1918 until 1976. After his early figural and, later, more Surrealist works, Ritschl began, in the 1950s, to move progressively toward geometric and, finally, more expressive abstraction. The increasingly meditative work of his late period, beginning in the early 1960s, focused on immaterial space, shaped entirely through color. The Museum Association Otto Ritschl began bestowing the prize in 2001 in Ritschl’s honor to keep the artist’s name alive.

Calendar

  • Mi
    17 Aug
    12:15—12:35
    Neubürger regionaler Gewässer
  • So
    21 Aug
    15:00—17:00
    Vom Lebensraum am Wasser in der Ausstellung "Vom Wert des Wassers" zum selbstgebauten Tierschaukasten
  • Mi
    24 Aug
    12:15—12:35
    Walter Crane "Die Rosse des Neptun"

Educational programs

Museum Wiesbaden offers a variety of programs for all ages, from guided tours to workshops for preschools and schools, to teacher training and programs for students, private groups, or families with children.

This website uses cookies. By visiting the site you agree to this. More information.

Moderne und Gegenwart
im Museum Wiesbaden

Ein Neubeginn mit Auswirkungen bis in die Gegenwart — Die Kunst der 1950er- und 1960er Jahre im Museum Wiesbaden: Die europäische und amerikanische Moderne nach 1945 gehört zu den profiliertesten Sammlungen des Hauses. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt in der ungegenständlichen Malerei und Skulptur, die sich mit den Themen Linie, Farbe, Fläche, Volumen und Raum auseinandersetzt.

Ausgehend davon prägen konzeptuelle Installationen, neue Materialien und Ansätze die Kunst der Gegenwart und damit auch die Sammlung des Wiesbadener Museums. hierbei stellen sich Fragen nach dem Wesen der Kunst, den Rahmenbedingungen und unterschiedlichen Bedeutungsebenen, die Kunstwerke eröffnen und zu denen sie in Beziehung gesetzt werden können.

Skulptur und Installation

Katsura Funakoshi, Tale of a Sphinx, 2004

Skulptur und Installation

Sind es nicht gerade die Köpfe, die Gesichter der Skulpturen, die uns eine Realität vor Augen führen? Eine Realität jedoch, die uns vertraut und fremd zugleich erscheint. Die Irritation, die hier erzeugt wird, ist ein wesentliches Merkmal der Skulptur, sie wirft uns auf uns selbst. Im Museum Wiesbaden treten Malerei und Skulptur in einen Dialog und werden innerhalb der Sammlungsschwerpunkte immer wieder neu kontextualisiert: Von den sakralen Figuren bei den Alten Meistern, den Büsten und schwungvollen Skulpturen im Jugendstil und den abstrakten Formen des Expressionismus und der Klassischen Moderne. In der Kunst der Gegenwart verschmelzen beide Bereiche. In ihren Installationen gehen die Künstlerinnen und Künstler der Gegenwart über die klassische Skulptur hinaus, bespielen ganze Räume und verwenden ungewohnte, neue Materialien für ihre Kunst.

Künstler:innenräume und Rauminstallationen

Raum-Installationen von Rebecca Horn, Jochen Gerz, Ilya Kabakov oder auch Katharina Grosse sowie Arbeiten der amerikanischen Minimal Art ergänzen den Bestand. Ganze Werkkomplexe versammeln sich in Künstler:innenräumen, oft eng verbunden mit der Architektur des Hauses. Diese meist dauerhaften Präsentationen bieten den Besucher:innen konstante Angel- und Ausgangspunkte beim Streifgang durch die Museumsräume. Als gewohnt erscheinen sie vertraut und werden doch immer wieder neu befragt im wechselnden Zusammenspiel mit den unterschiedlichen Sonderausstellungen des Hauses.

Internationale Kunst

Jörg Immendorff, Baby für Zunder-Zunder, 1966

Internationale Kunst

Heute gehören die Moderne nach 1945 und die zeitgenössische Kunst zu den profiliertesten Positionen des Hauses. Einsetzend mit internationalen Vertretern des Abstrakten Expressionismus reichen die Künstlernamen hier von K. O. Götz über Gerhard Hoehme bis Mark Rothko und Ad Reinhardt. Mit Werken von Georg Baselitz, Jörg Immendorff und Gerhard Richter sowie Arbeiten von Joseph Beuys und Wolf Vostell ist die Kunst der jungen Bundesrepublik stark vertreten. Und allein mit zwölf Arbeiten von Eva Hesse das Werk einer der bedeutendsten Künstlerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Hesse, die als Kind einer jüdischen Familie in Hamburg geboren, nach der Flucht in die USA in New York aufwuchs, schlägt die Brücke zu unserer Sammlung nordamerikanischer Kunst: Donald Judd, Fred Sandback, Robert Mangold, Ellsworth Kelly, Brice Marden, David Novros und Agnes Martin sind hier zu nennen, sowie in jüngster Zeit Joanna Pousette-Dart, Winston Roeth und Joseph Marioni.

Kunst seit den 1960ern

Die Öffnung und Erweiterung des Kunstbegriffs fand ihren Niederschlag in Strömungen der 1960er-Jahre. So beschäftigten sich etwa Thomas Bayrle und Peter Roehr mit Phänomenen der modernen Gesellschaft und deren Massenkultur. Zwischen Faszination, kühler Beobachtung und beißender Kritik bewegten sich ihre Arbeiten, die — aus sich ständig wiederholenden Versatzstücken bestehend — wie ein Flimmern der Konsum- und Warenwelt erschienen. In ähnlicher Weise verwendete Gerhard Richter Fotovorlagen für seine Malerei. Er befragte das Bild als Gemälde und zugleich als Abbild unserer Wirklichkeit. Als Vorlage für Terese Andeszka wählte er einen Zeitungsausriss, der zunächst eine private Tragödie (mit letztlich glücklichem Ausgang) zu thematisieren scheint, in Wahrheit aber über diese hinaus auf die Teilung Europas durch den Eisernen Vorhang und damit die eigene Biograpfie Richters verweist. Diese „Wahrheit“ jedoch wurde von Richter verborgen; sie ist nur über den „Umweg“ seines als Atlas veröffentlichten Bildarchivs greifbar. Denn erst hier erscheint die vollständige Unterzeile des Zeitungsausrisses, welche besagte Familie als Flüchtlinge aus Ungarn benennt, sodass deren Rettung nun vor einem ganz anderen Hintergrund erscheint.

Gerhard Richter, Terese Andeszka, 1964. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Gerhard Richter, Terese Andeszka, 1964. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Blick in die Sammlungspräsentation

Eva Hesse, Eighter from Decatur, 1965.
Eva Hesse, Eighter from Decatur, 1965.
v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Joanna Poussette-Dart, Banded Painting #4 2015/16; K. O. Götz, Krakmo, 1958, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Gerhard Richter, Königin Elisabeth, 1967; Ellsworth Kelly, White Relief over Black, 2004; Winston Roeth, Untitled Drawing I, 2005; Vollrad Kutscher, Leuchtende Vorbilder 1990/2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Ernst Wilhelm Nay, Afrikanisch, 1954; Otto Ritschl, 63/26, 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Mark Rothko, o.T., 1967, © Kate Rothko-Prizel & Christopher Rothko / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; David Novros, Salidas, 2016, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Rebecca Horn, Circle of Broken Landscape, 1997/2007; Otto Ritschl, 61/21, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Rupprecht Geiger, 587/69, 1969, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Jörg Immendorff, Deutsche Nichtschwimmer ins Wasser / Sonne-Regen-Sonne, 1965; Joseph Beuys, Capri-Batterie, 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Joanna Poussette-Dart, Banded Painting #4 2015/16; K. O. Götz, Krakmo, 1958, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Gerhard Richter, Königin Elisabeth, 1967; Ellsworth Kelly, White Relief over Black, 2004; Winston Roeth, Untitled Drawing I, 2005; Vollrad Kutscher, Leuchtende Vorbilder 1990/2006, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Ernst Wilhelm Nay, Afrikanisch, 1954; Otto Ritschl, 63/26, 1963, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Mark Rothko, o.T., 1967, © Kate Rothko-Prizel & Christopher Rothko / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; David Novros, Salidas, 2016, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Rebecca Horn, Circle of Broken Landscape, 1997/2007; Otto Ritschl, 61/21, 1961, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Rupprecht Geiger, 587/69, 1969, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Jörg Immendorff, Deutsche Nichtschwimmer ins Wasser / Sonne-Regen-Sonne, 1965; Joseph Beuys, Capri-Batterie, 1985, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Kunstpreise

Mit dem Museum Wiesbaden sind zwei Kunstpreise verbunden. Der eine ist der Alexej-von-Jawlensky-Preis der Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden, der an das Lebenswerk des großen russischen Malers erinnert, der von 1921 bis zu seinem Tode 1941 in Wiesbaden lebte. Er wird alle 5 Jahre vergeben und u.a. gestiftet von der hessischen Landeshauptstadt, der Spielbank Wiesbaden und der Nassauischen Sparkasse.

Als zweites ist der Otto-Ritschl-Preis zu nennen. Der Künstler lebte zwischen 1918 und 1976 in Wiesbaden. Nach anfänglich figürlicher, später auch dem Surrealismus nahestehender Arbeit näherte er sich in den fünfziger Jahren schrittweise der zunächst geometrischen, später eher expressiven Abstraktion. Seit Beginn der sechziger Jahre kreiste sein zunehmend meditatives Spätwerk um einen immateriellen, nur durch Farbe gestalteten Raum. Um den Namen Otto Ritschl lebendig zu halten, vergibt der Museumsverein Ritschl e.V. seit 2001 den ihm gewidmeten Kunstpreis.

Kalender

  • Di
    30 Nov
    18:00—19:00
    Slawomir Elsner — Präzision und Unschärfe
  • Do
    02 Dez
    18:00—19:00
    Viola Bittl
  • Sa
    04 Dez
    10:00—18:00
    Alles! 100 Jahre Jawlensky in Wiesbaden

Bildungsangebote
für pädagogische Gruppen

Das Museum Wiesbaden bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen für jede Altersklasse an. Ob Führungen, Workshops für Kitas und Schulen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Angebote für Studierende, private Gruppen oder Familien mit Kindern.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.